Both compact · same Bobcat lineup

Bobcat CT4058 vs Bobcat CT5545

Bobcat CT4058

Bobcat

Bobcat CT4058

~$41,048

57.7 hp engine · 45.1 PTO−22% to the shaft
Bobcat CT5545

Bobcat

Bobcat CT5545

~$46,887

45 hp engine · 33.9 PTO−25% to the shaft

The Bobcat CT4058 lists about $5,839 lower; the Bobcat CT4058 carries 45.1 hp to the PTO against 33.9; the Bobcat CT5545 lifts 2,346 lbs on the loader against 1,795; the Bobcat CT4058 buys more PTO horsepower per dollar, 1.1 per $1,000 against 0.72.

Bobcat CT4058 and Bobcat CT5545 compared row by row. A highlighted cell takes that row on the stated rule: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price.
SpecBobcat CT4058Bobcat CT5545
Price~$41,048~$46,887
What that price isMSRP, base buildMSRP, base build
Size classCompactCompact
TransmissionHydrostaticHydrostatic
Engine hp57.7 hp45 hp
PTO hp45.1 hp33.9 hp
Loader lift1,795 lbsat max height2,346 lbsat max height
Three-point lift2,716 lbs24 in behind the lift points3,177 lbs24 in behind the lift points
Hydraulic flow16.5 GPM17.8 GPM
Drive4WD4WD
EngineDaedongDaedong
Weight3,745 lbs4,685 lbs
Fuel tank11.9 gal14.8 gal
4WDYesYes
Front loaderYesYes
Cab availableNoYes
HydrostaticYesYes
Power steeringYesYes
Cruise controlNoNo
Warrantynot publishednot published

A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.

From owner discussion and long-term write-ups

What owners of each one say

Bobcat CT4058

What they like

  • 57.7 hp is the most engine power Bobcat puts in an open-station tractor, and 45.1 PTO hp comes with it
  • 16.5 gpm of total flow is the platform's higher hydraulic figure, so loader work is quick
  • 2,716 lb of hitch capacity at 24 in behind the lift point handles the heaviest Category 1 implements
  • A cab version exists on the identical chassis as the CT4558 for $8,798 more

What they complain about

  • Hydrostatic is the only transmission offered, so buyers who want gears for long PTO sessions have to drop to the CT4050
  • At 57.7 hp the loader still lifts 1,795 lb at max height, the same as the 44.9 hp CT4045 - the whole platform shares one loader rating
  • 3,745 lb of operating weight is unchanged from the smaller 4000-platform models, which limits how much loader load the machine can counterbalance
  • 11.9 gal of fuel for nearly 58 hp is a short working window
  • Emissions hardware is not stated on the model page, so any particulate filter and its regeneration cycle must be confirmed at the dealer
  • No warranty term published

Bobcat CT5545

What they like

  • The cab with heat, air conditioning and work lights is standard, which is what separates this platform from the 4000 series where it is a five-figure option
  • 2,346 lb of loader lift at max height with a 109 in lift height to the bucket pivot pin - the highest and strongest loader Bobcat puts on a tractor
  • 3,177 lb at 24 in behind the lift point is a utility-class hitch rating
  • 17.8 gpm of total flow, 9.6 of it dedicated to implements, keeps a third-function attachment fed
  • 4,685 lb of operating weight gives it the ballast to actually use the loader rating
  • The electronic three-range hydrostatic uses a servo valve and solenoid rather than pure cable linkage, and a PTO speed hold keeps engine rpm steady under load

What they complain about

  • 33.9 PTO hp out of 45 engine hp is an 11 hp loss, so the open-station CT4050 delivers more implement power for $14,000 less
  • Cheapest of the 5000 platform, but still $12,487 more than the 57.7 hp open-station CT4058
  • No gear or shuttle option exists anywhere on this platform - hydrostatic only
  • 13 in of ground clearance is low for a machine of this weight
  • Emissions hardware is not stated on the model page, so a particulate filter and its regeneration cycle need confirming at the dealer
  • No warranty term appears on the page