Both compact · same Bobcat lineup
Bobcat CT5545 vs Bobcat CT5550
| Spec | Bobcat CT5545 | Bobcat CT5550 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$46,887 | ~$49,814 |
| What that price is | MSRP, base build | MSRP, base build |
| Size class | Compact | Compact |
| Transmission | Hydrostatic | Hydrostatic |
| Engine hp | 45 hp | 50 hp |
| PTO hp | 33.9 hp | 38.9 hp |
| Loader lift | 2,346 lbsat max height | 2,346 lbsat max height |
| Three-point lift | 3,177 lbs24 in behind the lift points | 3,177 lbs24 in behind the lift points |
| Hydraulic flow | 17.8 GPM | 17.8 GPM |
| Drive | 4WD | 4WD |
| Engine | Daedong | Daedong |
| Weight | 4,685 lbs | 4,685 lbs |
| Fuel tank | 14.8 gal | 14.8 gal |
| 4WD | Yes | Yes |
| Front loader | Yes | Yes |
| Cab available | Yes | Yes |
| Hydrostatic | Yes | Yes |
| Power steering | Yes | Yes |
| Cruise control | No | No |
| Warranty | not published | not published |
A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.
From owner discussion and long-term write-ups
What owners of each one say
Bobcat CT5545
What they like
- The cab with heat, air conditioning and work lights is standard, which is what separates this platform from the 4000 series where it is a five-figure option
- 2,346 lb of loader lift at max height with a 109 in lift height to the bucket pivot pin - the highest and strongest loader Bobcat puts on a tractor
- 3,177 lb at 24 in behind the lift point is a utility-class hitch rating
- 17.8 gpm of total flow, 9.6 of it dedicated to implements, keeps a third-function attachment fed
- 4,685 lb of operating weight gives it the ballast to actually use the loader rating
- The electronic three-range hydrostatic uses a servo valve and solenoid rather than pure cable linkage, and a PTO speed hold keeps engine rpm steady under load
What they complain about
- 33.9 PTO hp out of 45 engine hp is an 11 hp loss, so the open-station CT4050 delivers more implement power for $14,000 less
- Cheapest of the 5000 platform, but still $12,487 more than the 57.7 hp open-station CT4058
- No gear or shuttle option exists anywhere on this platform - hydrostatic only
- 13 in of ground clearance is low for a machine of this weight
- Emissions hardware is not stated on the model page, so a particulate filter and its regeneration cycle need confirming at the dealer
- No warranty term appears on the page
Bobcat CT5550
What they like
- 38.9 PTO hp for $2,927 over the CT5545 is a 5 hp gain at the implement, a better return than the engine numbers suggest
- Same 2,346 lb loader and 3,177 lb hitch as every other 5000-platform model, so nothing is given up for choosing the middle of the range
- Enclosed cab with heat, A/C and work lights is standard equipment
- 17.8 gpm total flow and a 14.8 gal tank - the largest fuel capacity in Bobcat's tractor line
- Power and tilt steering plus a PTO speed hold that keeps engine rpm steady under load
What they complain about
- One of the two low-volume middle steps on this platform, so dealer stock is likely to be thinner than the CT5545 or CT5558
- 38.9 PTO hp from 50 engine hp is an 11 hp loss to the hydrostatic drivetrain
- Hydrostatic only, with no gear or shuttle alternative on the platform
- $49,814 before the loader is added
- Emissions hardware is not stated on the page and no warranty term is published

