Both compact · same Case IH lineup

Case IH Farmall 35C vs Case IH Farmall 40C

Case IHFarmall 35C

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 35C

Ask a dealer

35 hp engine · 29.7 PTO−15% to the shaft
Case IHFarmall 40C

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 40C

Ask a dealer

40 hp engine · 34 PTO−15% to the shaft

The Case IH Farmall 40C carries 34 hp to the PTO against 29.7.

Case IH Farmall 35C and Case IH Farmall 40C compared row by row. A highlighted cell takes that row on the stated rule: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price.
SpecCase IH Farmall 35CCase IH Farmall 40C
Pricenot publishednot published
What that price isno published priceno published price
Size classCompactCompact
TransmissionShuttleShuttle
Engine hp35 hp40 hp
PTO hp29.7 hp34 hp
Loader lift1,540 lbsmeasuring point not recorded1,540 lbsmeasuring point not recorded
Three-point lift1,808 lbs24 in behind the lift points1,808 lbs24 in behind the lift points
Hydraulic flow8.2 GPM8.2 GPM
DriveMFWDMFWD
Enginenot publishednot published
Weight3,175 lbs3,803 lbs
Fuel tank10.5 gal12.4 gal
4WDYesYes
Front loaderYesYes
Cab availableNoYes
HydrostaticNoNo
Power steeringYesYes
Cruise controlNoNo
Warranty6 yr extended (hours not stated)6 yr extended (hours not stated)

A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.

From owner discussion and long-term write-ups

What owners of each one say

Case IH Farmall 35C

What they like

  • The L350A lifts 1,540 lb against the L340A's 890 lb on the equivalent A-series tractor - the single biggest reason to pay for deluxe trim
  • One rear remote is standard and a second is optional, where the standard compact starts at none
  • 10.5 gal of fuel on a 3,175 lb tractor, against 7.4 gal on the outgoing 35A
  • 12 x 12 mechanical shuttle with synchro shift standard, 3-range hydrostatic optional
  • 6-year extended warranty at no additional cost, and no DEF to fill

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • 8.2 gpm of implement flow is the same pump the 55 hp 55C carries, so the loader cycles no faster here than on a machine 20 hp larger
  • Case IH's compact loader table rates max lift capacity 31.5 in. (800 mm) forward of the pivot pin, a convention that cannot be set beside the at-the-pin figures Kubota and John Deere publish
  • Non-cab only - the 40C is the cab model in this pair, and it is 628 lb heavier
  • A diesel particulate filter is standard across the compact C series, so regeneration is part of ownership
  • Choosing the hydrostatic costs 1.7 PTO hp, taking 29.7 down to 28
  • Case IH names no engine supplier for the 1.9-litre three in the brochure or on the page

Case IH Farmall 40C

What they like

  • Cab standard on a 66 in. wheelbase, which is a rare combination - everything else with a factory cab in the Case IH line is a full class larger
  • Two rear remotes standard, the most of any small-frame compact Farmall
  • 12.4 gal of fuel, the largest tank on the 3,000 lb C frame
  • 34 PTO hp from 40 gross, with the L350A's 1,540 lb of loader lift
  • 6-year extended warranty at no additional cost
  • 93.3 in. to the top of the cab, so it still clears most domestic barn doors

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • 3,803 lb with the cab, against 3,067 lb for the equivalent non-cab A - that is 736 lb of glass and steel on the same axles
  • Still 1,808 lb of hitch lift and 8.2 gpm of flow, neither of which grew with the cab
  • Case IH's compact loader table rates max lift capacity 31.5 in. (800 mm) forward of the pivot pin, a convention that cannot be set beside the at-the-pin figures Kubota and John Deere publish
  • No non-cab build is offered, so there is no way to buy this chassis cheaper
  • A diesel particulate filter is standard, and the maker does not name the engine supplier