Both compact · same Case IH lineup

Case IH Farmall 40A vs Case IH Farmall 55C

Case IH Farmall 40A

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 40A

Ask a dealer

40 hp engine · 35.9 PTO−10% to the shaft
Case IHFarmall 55C

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 55C

Ask a dealer

55 hp engine · 46.7 PTO−15% to the shaft

The Case IH Farmall 55C carries 46.7 hp to the PTO against 35.9; the Case IH Farmall 55C lifts 1,830 lbs on the loader against 890.

Case IH Farmall 40A and Case IH Farmall 55C compared row by row. A highlighted cell takes that row on the stated rule: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price.
SpecCase IH Farmall 40ACase IH Farmall 55C
Pricenot publishednot published
What that price isno published priceno published price
Size classCompactCompact
TransmissionShuttleShuttle
Engine hp40 hp55 hp
PTO hp35.9 hp46.7 hp
Loader lift890 lbsmeasuring point not recorded1,830 lbsmeasuring point not recorded
Three-point lift1,596 lbs24 in behind the lift points2,756 lbs24 in behind the lift points
Hydraulic flow8.4 GPM8.2 GPM
DriveMFWDMFWD
Enginenot publishednot published
Weight3,053 lbs3,770 lbs
Fuel tank12.6 gal10.5 gal
4WDYesYes
Front loaderYesYes
Cab availableNoNo
HydrostaticNoNo
Power steeringYesYes
Cruise controlNoNo
Warranty6 yr extended (hours not stated)6 yr extended (hours not stated)

A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.

From owner discussion and long-term write-ups

What owners of each one say

Case IH Farmall 40A

What they like

  • 35.9 PTO hp at 40 gross, and only 1.1 hp of that is lost choosing the hydrostatic build
  • Identical wheelbase, hitch, fuel tank and loader to the 35A, so the decision between the two is horsepower and price alone
  • 12.6 gal of fuel on a 3,053 lb tractor is a genuinely long working day
  • 12 x 12 mechanical shuttle standard with synchro shift and a dry clutch, and a 3-range hydrostatic offered at the same trim
  • Up to three rear remotes can be specified, which is more rear hydraulics than most 40 hp compacts offer at any price
  • No DEF, and the 6-year extended warranty is included rather than sold

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • Case IH's own model page still prints 34.0 / 32.0 PTO hp where its 2026 spec sheet says 35.9 / 34.8 - the two documents describe different model years and the site has not caught up
  • At 3,053 lb it weighs 11 lb more than the 35A, so the extra 5 hp buys no loader stability and no traction
  • 1,596 lb of hitch lift is well under the 2,310 lb the longer-wheelbase 45A carries, and that gap decides what mounted implements will work
  • Zero rear remotes in the base build
  • The L340A's 890 lb is published without a measuring point, and non-cab is the only operator station offered

Case IH Farmall 55C

What they like

  • 46.7 PTO hp is the highest figure in the Case IH compact range, enough for a 7-foot cutter or a small round baler
  • 16 x 16 mechanical shuttle with synchro shift, four more ratios each way than the 12 x 12 on the smaller compacts
  • 2,756 lb of hitch lift at 24 in. behind the pin, with flex lower-link ends and telescopic stabilizers included
  • A factory cab is genuinely offered at 4,453 lb against the 3,770 lb ROPS build - the compact A series has no cab at all
  • Two rear remotes are standard on the cab build, where the A series starts at zero
  • 73.2 in. of wheelbase makes a loaded L360A bucket far steadier than the 66 in. small-frame compacts
  • 6-year extended warranty at no additional cost, and no DEF tank to fill

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • 8.2 gpm of implement flow is the same pump fitted to the 35 hp 35C - at 55 hp that is the weakest part of the specification and it shows on a grapple
  • The hydrostatic option costs 2.7 PTO hp, dropping 46.7 to 44
  • Case IH rates the L360A's 1,830 lb 31.5 in. forward of the pivot pin, which reads lower than a pin figure and higher than a bucket-edge one - not comparable either way
  • Still a Category I hitch despite 55 hp and a 2,756 lb lift
  • Diesel particulate filter standard across the compact C series, so regeneration is part of the deal