Both compact · same Bobcat lineup
Bobcat CT2040 vs Bobcat CT4050
| Spec | Bobcat CT2040 | Bobcat CT4050 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$29,415 | ~$32,608 |
| What that price is | MSRP, base build | MSRP, base build |
| Size class | Compact | Compact |
| Transmission | Hydrostatic | Shuttle |
| Engine hp | 39.6 hp | 50.3 hp |
| PTO hp | 31.9 hp | 45.6 hp |
| Loader lift | 1,389 lbsat max height | 1,795 lbsat max height |
| Three-point lift | 1,631 lbs24 in behind the lift points | 2,716 lbs24 in behind the lift points |
| Hydraulic flow | 11.4 GPM | 14.1 GPM |
| Drive | 4WD | 4WD |
| Engine | Daedong | Daedong |
| Weight | 3,005 lbs | 3,745 lbs |
| Fuel tank | 9 gal | 11.9 gal |
| 4WD | Yes | Yes |
| Front loader | Yes | Yes |
| Cab available | No | No |
| Hydrostatic | Yes | No |
| Power steering | Yes | Yes |
| Cruise control | No | No |
| Warranty | not published | not published |
A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.
From owner discussion and long-term write-ups
What owners of each one say
Bobcat CT2040
What they like
- 39.6 hp for $762 more than the 34.9 hp CT2035 is the steepest value step in the Bobcat tractor range
- The manual-shift build raises PTO output to 34.9 hp if implement power matters more than pedal control
- An optional mid-PTO at 1,988 rpm keeps a belly mower on the table at nearly 40 hp, which most compacts this size drop
- 1,631 lb at 24 in behind the lift point is enough hitch capacity for a heavy Category 1 implement
- Sold as the CT2540 with a factory cab on the same chassis for $43,263
What they complain about
- 1,389 lb of loader lift at max height is identical to the 24.5 hp CT2025's rating - the extra 15 engine horsepower buys none of it
- 11.4 gpm of total flow is unchanged from the bottom of the platform, so a nearly 40 hp machine runs the same loader cycle times
- A 9 gal tank on 39.6 hp means frequent stops on a long day
- Emissions hardware is not stated on the model page, so a particulate filter and its regeneration behaviour have to be confirmed with the dealer
- The cab build costs $13,848 more, a bigger jump than the equivalent step on the CT2035
- No warranty term appears on the model page
Bobcat CT4050
What they like
- 45.6 PTO hp for $32,608 undercuts the 44.9 hp CT4045 on both price and implement power, because the base build here is the manual shuttle
- The 8x8 synchro shuttle changes direction without a full clutch stop, which is what you want for hours of tilling or cutting
- 1,795 lb loader lift at max height and 2,716 lb at 24 in behind the hitch match the rest of the 4000 platform
- A three-range hydrostatic is available if you change your mind, though PTO output falls to 39.3 hp with it
- Turbocharged 111 cu in Daedong three-cylinder at 2,750 rpm
What they complain about
- 14.1 gpm of flow on the shuttle build is 2.4 gpm short of the hydrostatic version's 16.5, so loader cycles are slower
- No cab variant is listed for the CT4050 - if you want heat and A/C you have to move to the CT4545 or the 5000 platform
- 11.9 gal of fuel is modest for 50 hp of turbo diesel
- Emissions hardware is not stated on the page, so a particulate filter and its regeneration behaviour are a dealer question
- No published warranty term

