Sub-Compact against Compact · same Case IH lineup
Case IH Farmall 25SC vs Case IH Farmall 25A
Case IHFarmall 25SC
Case IH
Case IH Farmall 25SC
Ask a dealer
24.7 hp engine · 17.2 PTO−30% to the shaft
| Spec | Case IH Farmall 25SC | Case IH Farmall 25A |
|---|---|---|
| Price | not published | not published |
| What that price is | no published price | no published price |
| Size class | Sub-Compact | Compact |
| Transmission | Hydrostatic | Shuttle |
| Engine hp | 24.7 hp | 24.6 hp |
| PTO hp | 17.2 hp | 19.2 hp |
| Loader lift | 693 lbsmeasuring point not recorded | 1,214 lbsmeasuring point not recorded |
| Three-point lift | 728 lbs24 in behind the lift points | 1,433 lbs24 in behind the lift points |
| Hydraulic flow | 4.6 GPM | 7.9 GPM |
| Drive | MFWD | MFWD |
| Engine | not published | not published |
| Weight | 1,444 lbs | 2,469 lbs |
| Fuel tank | 6.6 gal | 7.4 gal |
| 4WD | Yes | Yes |
| Front loader | Yes | Yes |
| Cab available | No | No |
| Hydrostatic | Yes | No |
| Power steering | Yes | Yes |
| Cruise control | No | No |
| Warranty | not published | 6 yr extended (hours not stated) |
A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.
From owner discussion and long-term write-ups
What owners of each one say
Case IH Farmall 25SC
What they like
- 540 rear PTO plus a 2,500 rpm mid-PTO as standard equipment, so a belly mower and a rear implement are both live without an add-on kit
- Independent electrohydraulic MFD engagement rather than a mechanical lever, which is unusual kit at this size
- 728 lb of Category I hitch lift measured 24 in. behind the pin, which is solid for a 1,444 lb tractor
- Inboard-planetary-free simplicity: an indirect-injection 1.26 L three with no DEF tank and no urea to manage
- At 1,444 lb bare it is light enough to cross a lawn without rutting it, and short enough at 97 in. to turn inside a suburban garden
What they complain about
- Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
- 4.6 gpm of implement flow is the lowest in this catalog's subcompact class, so loader and backhoe cycles are slow
- The L320S loader lifts 693 lb to a 72 in. maximum height, which is below what a Kubota BX or a Deere 1025R loader will put over a truck side
- Case IH does not state where the 693 lb was measured, so it cannot be set beside the pivot-pin ratings other makers publish
- Zero rear remotes in the base build; the first is an option
- No warranty term is printed on the model page or the spec sheet - the 6-year extended cover Case IH advertises is written for the compact A and C series, not the subcompact
- Only one transmission is offered, so there is no gear build for anyone who does not want a hydrostat
Case IH Farmall 25A
What they like
- 19.2 PTO hp out of 24.6 gross is a 78 percent driveline figure, and it holds on the shuttle where the hydrostatic build drops to 17.1
- A 12 x 12 mechanical shuttle with synchro shift is the standard transmission - the Kubota BX and Deere 1 Series in this power class are hydrostatic only
- The L330 loader lifts 1,214 lb to 94.3 in., which is nearly double what the subcompact 25SC's L320S manages
- 1,433 lb of Category I hitch lift and telescopic stabilizers included with it
- Inboard planetary final drives rather than a bare axle shaft, which is heavier-duty running gear than the power class suggests
- Turbocharged and aftercooled, with no DEF tank, so there is nothing to top up between services
What they complain about
- Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
- caseih.com's model page shows 24.4 hp where the spec sheet Case IH links from that same page says 24.6 - a small disagreement the maker has not reconciled
- Choosing the hydrostatic option costs 2.1 PTO hp, taking 19.2 down to 17.1
- 7.9 gpm of implement flow is modest, and with zero rear remotes standard a rear hydraulic circuit is an extra
- Case IH does not say where the L330's 1,214 lb was measured, so the figure is not comparable with a pivot-pin rating
- Non-cab only, and the maker names no engine supplier for the 1.3-litre three anywhere in its own material