Both compact · same Case IH lineup
Case IH Farmall 40C vs Case IH Farmall 45C
| Spec | Case IH Farmall 40C | Case IH Farmall 45C |
|---|---|---|
| Price | not published | not published |
| What that price is | no published price | no published price |
| Size class | Compact | Compact |
| Transmission | Shuttle | Shuttle |
| Engine hp | 40 hp | 45 hp |
| PTO hp | 34 hp | 38.2 hp |
| Loader lift | 1,540 lbsmeasuring point not recorded | 1,830 lbsmeasuring point not recorded |
| Three-point lift | 1,808 lbs24 in behind the lift points | 2,756 lbs24 in behind the lift points |
| Hydraulic flow | 8.2 GPM | 8.2 GPM |
| Drive | MFWD | MFWD |
| Engine | not published | not published |
| Weight | 3,803 lbs | 3,770 lbs |
| Fuel tank | 12.4 gal | 10.5 gal |
| 4WD | Yes | Yes |
| Front loader | Yes | Yes |
| Cab available | Yes | No |
| Hydrostatic | No | No |
| Power steering | Yes | Yes |
| Cruise control | No | No |
| Warranty | 6 yr extended (hours not stated) | 6 yr extended (hours not stated) |
A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.
From owner discussion and long-term write-ups
What owners of each one say
Case IH Farmall 40C
What they like
- Cab standard on a 66 in. wheelbase, which is a rare combination - everything else with a factory cab in the Case IH line is a full class larger
- Two rear remotes standard, the most of any small-frame compact Farmall
- 12.4 gal of fuel, the largest tank on the 3,000 lb C frame
- 34 PTO hp from 40 gross, with the L350A's 1,540 lb of loader lift
- 6-year extended warranty at no additional cost
- 93.3 in. to the top of the cab, so it still clears most domestic barn doors
What they complain about
- Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
- 3,803 lb with the cab, against 3,067 lb for the equivalent non-cab A - that is 736 lb of glass and steel on the same axles
- Still 1,808 lb of hitch lift and 8.2 gpm of flow, neither of which grew with the cab
- Case IH's compact loader table rates max lift capacity 31.5 in. (800 mm) forward of the pivot pin, a convention that cannot be set beside the at-the-pin figures Kubota and John Deere publish
- No non-cab build is offered, so there is no way to buy this chassis cheaper
- A diesel particulate filter is standard, and the maker does not name the engine supplier
Case IH Farmall 45C
What they like
- 2,756 lb of hitch lift at 24 in. behind the pin, a 52 percent jump over the 1,808 lb the 35C and 40C carry
- 16 x 16 mechanical shuttle with synchro shift, four more ratios each way than the 12 x 12 on the smaller frame
- Flex lower-link ends and telescopic stabilizers come with the hitch rather than as options
- A factory cab is offered here at 4,453 lb against the 3,770 lb ROPS build, so the same chassis covers both budgets
- The L360A lifts 1,830 lb to 112 in., the tallest reach in the Case IH compact loader range
- 73.2 in. of wheelbase makes a loaded bucket far steadier than the 66 in. small-frame compacts manage
What they complain about
- Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
- 8.2 gpm of implement flow, identical to the 35 hp 35A - the hydraulics did not scale with the frame and it shows on a grapple or a snowblower chute
- Still a Category I hitch despite 2,756 lb of lift, which limits which mounted implements will pin up
- Case IH's compact loader table rates max lift capacity 31.5 in. (800 mm) forward of the pivot pin, a convention that cannot be set beside the at-the-pin figures Kubota and John Deere publish
- The hydrostatic option costs 2.2 PTO hp, taking 38.2 down to 36
- A diesel particulate filter is standard across the compact C series