Both compact · same Case IH lineup

Case IH Farmall 45C vs Case IH Farmall 50C

Case IHFarmall 45C

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 45C

Ask a dealer

45 hp engine · 38.2 PTO−15% to the shaft
Case IHFarmall 50C

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 50C

Ask a dealer

50 hp engine · 42.5 PTO−15% to the shaft

The Case IH Farmall 50C carries 42.5 hp to the PTO against 38.2.

Case IH Farmall 45C and Case IH Farmall 50C compared row by row. A highlighted cell takes that row on the stated rule: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price.
SpecCase IH Farmall 45CCase IH Farmall 50C
Pricenot publishednot published
What that price isno published priceno published price
Size classCompactCompact
TransmissionShuttleShuttle
Engine hp45 hp50 hp
PTO hp38.2 hp42.5 hp
Loader lift1,830 lbsmeasuring point not recorded1,830 lbsmeasuring point not recorded
Three-point lift2,756 lbs24 in behind the lift points2,756 lbs24 in behind the lift points
Hydraulic flow8.2 GPM8.2 GPM
DriveMFWDMFWD
Enginenot publishednot published
Weight3,770 lbs3,770 lbs
Fuel tank10.5 gal10.5 gal
4WDYesYes
Front loaderYesYes
Cab availableNoNo
HydrostaticNoNo
Power steeringYesYes
Cruise controlNoNo
Warranty6 yr extended (hours not stated)6 yr extended (hours not stated)

A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.

From owner discussion and long-term write-ups

What owners of each one say

Case IH Farmall 45C

What they like

  • 2,756 lb of hitch lift at 24 in. behind the pin, a 52 percent jump over the 1,808 lb the 35C and 40C carry
  • 16 x 16 mechanical shuttle with synchro shift, four more ratios each way than the 12 x 12 on the smaller frame
  • Flex lower-link ends and telescopic stabilizers come with the hitch rather than as options
  • A factory cab is offered here at 4,453 lb against the 3,770 lb ROPS build, so the same chassis covers both budgets
  • The L360A lifts 1,830 lb to 112 in., the tallest reach in the Case IH compact loader range
  • 73.2 in. of wheelbase makes a loaded bucket far steadier than the 66 in. small-frame compacts manage

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • 8.2 gpm of implement flow, identical to the 35 hp 35A - the hydraulics did not scale with the frame and it shows on a grapple or a snowblower chute
  • Still a Category I hitch despite 2,756 lb of lift, which limits which mounted implements will pin up
  • Case IH's compact loader table rates max lift capacity 31.5 in. (800 mm) forward of the pivot pin, a convention that cannot be set beside the at-the-pin figures Kubota and John Deere publish
  • The hydrostatic option costs 2.2 PTO hp, taking 38.2 down to 36
  • A diesel particulate filter is standard across the compact C series

Case IH Farmall 50C

What they like

  • 42.5 PTO hp from 50 gross, an 85 percent driveline figure on the mechanical shuttle
  • Same 2,756 lb hitch, 73.2 in. wheelbase and L360A loader as the 55C, for less money and less fuel
  • 16 x 16 mechanical shuttle standard, with a 3-range hydrostatic offered rather than forced
  • Cab or non-cab from the same chassis, at 4,453 lb and 3,770 lb respectively
  • No DEF tank, and a 6-year extended warranty at no additional cost

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • 8.2 gpm of implement flow is the same pump the smallest compact Farmall gets - the weakest part of the whole C series specification
  • Category I hitch only, which at 2,756 lb of lift is an odd pairing
  • Case IH's compact loader table rates max lift capacity 31.5 in. (800 mm) forward of the pivot pin, a convention that cannot be set beside the at-the-pin figures Kubota and John Deere publish
  • The hydrostatic build gives up 2.5 PTO hp, from 42.5 to 40
  • Sits close enough to the 55C on every spec but power that the two are hard to choose between without a price, which Case IH does not publish
  • Diesel particulate filter standard, with regeneration cycles to match