Both compact · same Case IH lineup

Case IH Farmall 35A vs Case IH Farmall 40A

Case IHFarmall 35A

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 35A

Ask a dealer

35 hp engine · 31 PTO−11% to the shaft
Case IH Farmall 40A

Case IH

Case IH Farmall 40A

Ask a dealer

40 hp engine · 35.9 PTO−10% to the shaft

The Case IH Farmall 40A carries 35.9 hp to the PTO against 31.

Case IH Farmall 35A and Case IH Farmall 40A compared row by row. A highlighted cell takes that row on the stated rule: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price.
SpecCase IH Farmall 35ACase IH Farmall 40A
Pricenot publishednot published
What that price isno published priceno published price
Size classCompactCompact
TransmissionShuttleShuttle
Engine hp35 hp40 hp
PTO hp31 hp35.9 hp
Loader lift890 lbsmeasuring point not recorded890 lbsmeasuring point not recorded
Three-point lift1,596 lbs24 in behind the lift points1,596 lbs24 in behind the lift points
Hydraulic flow8.4 GPM8.4 GPM
DriveMFWDMFWD
Enginenot publishednot published
Weight3,042 lbs3,053 lbs
Fuel tank12.6 gal12.6 gal
4WDYesYes
Front loaderYesYes
Cab availableNoNo
HydrostaticNoNo
Power steeringYesYes
Cruise controlNoNo
Warranty6 yr extended (hours not stated)6 yr extended (hours not stated)

A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.

From owner discussion and long-term write-ups

What owners of each one say

Case IH Farmall 35A

What they like

  • 31 PTO hp from 35 gross is the highest driveline efficiency in the compact A range, and it loses only 0.9 hp on the hydrostatic build
  • Naturally aspirated where every other compact A is turbocharged - fewer hot parts, and nothing to spool on a machine that spends its life at PTO speed
  • 12.6 gal of fuel is the largest tank in the range, and nearly double what the outgoing 35A carried
  • A 12 x 12 mechanical shuttle with synchro shift is standard, with a 3-range hydrostatic offered rather than forced
  • No DEF tank anywhere in the compact A line
  • The 6-year extended warranty covers the whole compact A and C series at no additional cost

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • The MY2026 redesign cut hitch lift from 1,808 lb to 1,596 lb at 24 in. behind the pin, so the new tractor picks up less than the one it replaces
  • The Farmall Compact brochure Case IH still links from this page is the outgoing machine and prints 29.7 PTO hp, 7.4 gal and 1,808 lb - only the 2026 spec sheet matches the model page
  • Zero rear remotes in the base build; up to three are optional, so every rear circuit is a line item
  • Case IH rates the L340A at 890 lb but does not publish where it measured, so the figure sits beside nobody else's cleanly
  • Non-cab only across the whole compact A series, so a heated cab means the compact C frame

Case IH Farmall 40A

What they like

  • 35.9 PTO hp at 40 gross, and only 1.1 hp of that is lost choosing the hydrostatic build
  • Identical wheelbase, hitch, fuel tank and loader to the 35A, so the decision between the two is horsepower and price alone
  • 12.6 gal of fuel on a 3,053 lb tractor is a genuinely long working day
  • 12 x 12 mechanical shuttle standard with synchro shift and a dry clutch, and a 3-range hydrostatic offered at the same trim
  • Up to three rear remotes can be specified, which is more rear hydraulics than most 40 hp compacts offer at any price
  • No DEF, and the 6-year extended warranty is included rather than sold

What they complain about

  • Case IH publishes no list price and its Build & Price tool hands you to a dealer rather than a figure, so this page cannot tell you what it costs - every public number found either bundles the loader or is a financing offer
  • Case IH's own model page still prints 34.0 / 32.0 PTO hp where its 2026 spec sheet says 35.9 / 34.8 - the two documents describe different model years and the site has not caught up
  • At 3,053 lb it weighs 11 lb more than the 35A, so the extra 5 hp buys no loader stability and no traction
  • 1,596 lb of hitch lift is well under the 2,310 lb the longer-wheelbase 45A carries, and that gap decides what mounted implements will work
  • Zero rear remotes in the base build
  • The L340A's 890 lb is published without a measuring point, and non-cab is the only operator station offered