Both compact · same Bobcat lineup
Bobcat CT2035 vs Bobcat CT2040
| Spec | Bobcat CT2035 | Bobcat CT2040 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ~$28,653 | ~$29,415 |
| What that price is | MSRP, base build | MSRP, base build |
| Size class | Compact | Compact |
| Transmission | Hydrostatic | Hydrostatic |
| Engine hp | 34.9 hp | 39.6 hp |
| PTO hp | 29.4 hp | 31.9 hp |
| Loader lift | 1,389 lbsat max height | 1,389 lbsat max height |
| Three-point lift | 1,631 lbs24 in behind the lift points | 1,631 lbs24 in behind the lift points |
| Hydraulic flow | 11.4 GPM | 11.4 GPM |
| Drive | 4WD | 4WD |
| Engine | Daedong | Daedong |
| Weight | 3,005 lbs | 3,005 lbs |
| Fuel tank | 9 gal | 9 gal |
| 4WD | Yes | Yes |
| Front loader | Yes | Yes |
| Cab available | No | No |
| Hydrostatic | Yes | Yes |
| Power steering | Yes | Yes |
| Cruise control | No | No |
| Warranty | not published | not published |
A highlighted cell wins its row on the rule named above the table: more power, lift, capacity or flow, or a lower price. A lift row is left unwon whenever the two makers measured in different places, or where either of them did not say — a figure quoted at the pivot pin and one quoted 500 mm ahead of it describe the same loader and differ by roughly a third, so ranking them against each other would invent a result. Prices are typical list and move with dealer packages.
From owner discussion and long-term write-ups
What owners of each one say
Bobcat CT2035
What they like
- 29.4 PTO hp on the hydrostatic build turns a 6 ft rotary cutter or a mid-size tiller without lugging
- An 8.4 ft turning radius on a 62.4 in wide, 3,005 lb machine is tight for the class
- Three-range hydrostatic, or a manual-shift build that raises PTO output to 30.8 hp
- The identical chassis is sold as the CT2535 with a factory cab, so the platform is not a dead end if heat and A/C become a priority later
- 1,631 lb at 24 in behind the lift point covers a full Category 1 implement set
What they complain about
- Loader lift moves only from 1,369 to 1,389 lb at max height over the CT2025 - ten extra engine horsepower buys 20 lb of lift
- Hydraulic flow is unchanged at 11.4 gpm total, so loader cycle times do not improve either
- The 9 gal tank is carried over from the 24.5 hp CT2025 but is now feeding a hungrier engine
- Emissions hardware is not stated on the model page, so whether a particulate filter and its regeneration cycle are fitted has to be confirmed at the dealer
- The cab version costs $12,520 more than the open-station build
- No warranty term is published on the page
Bobcat CT2040
What they like
- 39.6 hp for $762 more than the 34.9 hp CT2035 is the steepest value step in the Bobcat tractor range
- The manual-shift build raises PTO output to 34.9 hp if implement power matters more than pedal control
- An optional mid-PTO at 1,988 rpm keeps a belly mower on the table at nearly 40 hp, which most compacts this size drop
- 1,631 lb at 24 in behind the lift point is enough hitch capacity for a heavy Category 1 implement
- Sold as the CT2540 with a factory cab on the same chassis for $43,263
What they complain about
- 1,389 lb of loader lift at max height is identical to the 24.5 hp CT2025's rating - the extra 15 engine horsepower buys none of it
- 11.4 gpm of total flow is unchanged from the bottom of the platform, so a nearly 40 hp machine runs the same loader cycle times
- A 9 gal tank on 39.6 hp means frequent stops on a long day
- Emissions hardware is not stated on the model page, so a particulate filter and its regeneration behaviour have to be confirmed with the dealer
- The cab build costs $13,848 more, a bigger jump than the equivalent step on the CT2035
- No warranty term appears on the model page

